The Joy of Loving Who I AM

Little_sunOur deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people will not feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone and as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give others permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others ~ Marianne Williamson

This quote has been quoted and re-quoted so many times in so many ways. And maybe it is because, in some fantastic sense, it really is quite perfect. It gave me chills the first time I read it, precisely because it spun my mind about from the way it had been conditioned, and made me see how true these words were. Or rather I felt my being give a leap of recognition that my mind found hard to compute. What an audacious, challenging idea. Surely that couldn’t apply to me. And yet, hang on, it must. What do I do with that…?

Now it encapsulates something about self-love that I have come to feel as totally liberating, and that is having the right to be free to express yourself in whatever way brings you joy. To shine with absolute confidence, way beyond the reach of anyone’s opinion about it. To know that you really are perfect just simply because you’re perfect. And, by amazingly happy design, by shining as your perfect self, you are serving the whole, without effort, without need, just by being. How blooming marvellous…

To me, being informed and really feeling that I have the right to be fully me has been so crucial to my own liberation, because we are so conditioned to keep ourselves down in so many ways, that ironically we often need someone else to give us permission or encouragement (or both) to shine! At least to begin with. That was something that these words have helped to support for me, and feeling the confidence and truth ringing from them every time I read them has buoyed me up every time my sensitivities and awareness of others’ need for me to be smaller or quieter has felt too heavy and too scary to move beyond.

And, so beautifully, as I have evolved within myself to embrace this self-permission to shine more and more, I have discovered through my own experience how true it is that just by embodying it, just by resonating that frequency, just by sharing that space, just by existing in the collective in this way, we enable others to really be themselves. To be around someone who truly loves who they are, who is truly comfortable in their own skin, is a deeply precious and relaxing gift.

And so, the wonderful thing for me now, here, writing this, is knowing how completely impossible it would have been for me to do this not very long ago. The self-doubt and fear around other’s opinions of what I wrote, the fear of not being worthy to express myself and to love myself, the inability to believe in my own beauty, however I wanted to express it, would have prevented the idea from even getting through. The belief that I could just write whatever I wanted, for the sheer joy of it, publicly, and without attachment to how it was received, would have been beyond my comprehension!

So now, as I find myself opening up more and more to the wonder of discovering just how much life there is to experience, and that it really is time to do this, to be this, to follow the joy in total confidence, I find I am full of gratitude to myself, for having the courage and perseverance to just keep going, through so much pain and fear, to emerge into the light of a brand new era, ready to really and truly follow my joy! Whether I know how that’s going to unfold or not…

And I know, by being this, by expressing this, by sharing it, I am supporting this for every beautiful soul on this planet, whether they decide to experience it or not. And that does not have to be my motivation, and I do not have to see it as anything other than my own perfect unfolding in love and in light. But I find myself deeply loving that knowledge and that trust. And celebrating wherever it finds its way into expression…

In LOVE, I AM.

3 thoughts on “The Joy of Loving Who I AM

  1. Oh, I’m so grateful that you’re shining your light because it makes it more ok for me to shine mine. I, too, have had such difficulty to just love myself. Why is this such a big thing for Lightworkers in general?? I have come very far in this area, though. I’m proud of myself. I just think maybe I could be even better at it…
    In much appreciation of your expression,
    Ivy

  2. Thank you my lovely because you’re really inspiring me to keep sharing! Yes the self-love thing is sooo crucial, isn’t it? I’ve been having so many thoughts and experiences that I want to write about but the energies are being so intense that the moment to write is gone almost as soon as it arrives! Quite frustrating, but think embracing the chaos and letting it all flow on a core level is all I can do right now..

    Thank you so much for your love and support and I’m so proud of you and me and all of us because I know that however well we think we are doing is nowhere near close to the immensity of what we actually are achieving!

    Loving you sweetheart ♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

